Loudspeaker - Word On Groove Cover


  1. Liberty (4:44)
  2. Astral Alien (4:52)
  3. Shortwave (5:29)
  4. No Cause For Concern (3:20)
  5. I'm Not God (2:29)
  6. Bombay Cop Shop (6:46)
  7. Heavy Alphabet L (4:33)
  8. De-Velopment (2:17)
  9. Dig Your Own Groove (4:46)
  10. Headlines (4:31) – 
  11. The Mighty Wah (4:46)
  12. Sam I Am (4:30)
  13. Go Gentle Wilfred Lester (5:04)
  14. The Next Moment (4:16)


The Poets:
  Andrew Barnum - 1, 7, 11
  John Clare - 3, 13
  Kev Carmody - 8
  Phil Free - 2, 9
Steve Kilbey - 3, 10

The Musicians:
  George Washingmachine - Violin
  Mark Elliot - Saxophones
  Perry Silvio - Synthesisers, Tape Operation
  Jules Shear - Bass, Guitar, Keyboards, Triangle
  Ben Rosen - Basses
  John Kilbey - Harmonica, Percussion
  Boris Goudenof - Trumpet, Piano, Synthesiser, Percussion, Guitars
  Sam Gill - Jaw Harp, Vocal Percussion, Percussion
  Mark Atkins - Didgeridoo



Loudspeaker is an album of poetry read/sung to backing tracks, to which Steve contributed on two tracks. He is heard in the background near the end of track 3 (Shortwave), and recites all of track 10 (Headlines). From the booklet:

Loudspeaker is poetry and motion. No longer the intellectual pursuit of hairy university types or the endless prose of romantics deceased, but living verse where delivery is penultimate.

Loudspeaker is a collection of spontaneous responses.

The musicians were not given the opportunity to rehearse or even listen to the music before recording. George Washingmachine (violin) and Mark Elliot (saxophones) both responded to every track in less time than the CD now takes to play. By the time the music was ready for the poets the multitrack tapes were saturated with the sounds of India, synthesiser blips, violin solos, saxophones, driving drums and bass lines.

A cacophony of sound that tempted individual poets to gravitate to certain pieces.

They bellowed spontaneously or referred to notes scribbled beforehand. Time was short, not because of previous appointments but because the words lost their freshness with each minute passing.

Loudspeaker is a society for living poets.
A "heavy alphabet" on top of a heavy groove.

Boris Goudonof, Producer


Loudspeaker - Native Tongue Cover


  1. The Naked Heart Of You (3:58)
  2. To Die Of Love (4:45)
  3. Control (4:10)
  4. Ode To A Nightingale (7:33)
  5. Window To Summer (6:04)
  6. I Hate You (6:28)
  7. Tramfare For The Common Man (3:05)
  8. Bauhaus Night (3:24)
  9. 15 Nuns Lie Floating (6:01)
  10. Who Drums? (8:39)
  11. Marina (3:53)
  12. Plain Lucky Jane (5:35)
  13. Excelsior (9:31)


Track 4:
  Music: Paul Kelly/Poem: Keats)
  Paul Kelly - Spoken Word
  B. Goudonof - Keys, Trumpet
  S. Polinski - Jupiter 8
  J. Creighton - Bass Guitar
  P. South - Bass Drum
Steve Kilbey - E-Bow Guitar



This CD is more like a compilation CD. Each song has different musicians - a bit different than the previous Loudspeaker release.