Space Summit is a collaboration between Marty Willson-Piper and Jed Bonniwell from Minneapolis.


Space Summit - I'm Electric Single Cover

I'm Electric (5:28) –  / /


Marty Willson-Piper - electric guitars, bass
Jed Bonniwell - vocals
Dare Mason - keyboards
Olivia Willson-Piper - strings
Eddie John - drums
Niklas Barker - Mellotron
Phoebe Tsen - harmony and backing vocals

Produced by Marty Willson-Piper & Dare Mason
Lyrics by Jed Bonniwell
Music by Marty Willson-Piper and Jed Bonniwell



Space Summit - Life This Way Single Cover

Life This Way (4:32) –  / /



Space Summit - Queen Elizabeth's Keys Single Cover

Queen Elizabeth's Keys (4:31) –  / /



Space Summit - Life This Way Cover



1.I'm Electric (5:28) /
2.Life This Way (4:32) /
3.Ancient Towers (4:07)
4.Queen Elizabeth's Keys (4:31) /
5.Deep Paisley Underground (5:11)
6.Fold With The Light (5:17)
7.Marlowe (4:30)
8.The Four Horses Of Venice (4:52)
9.Dome Of Light (4:33)
10.If You Believe (4:56)

» Lyrics «


All songs written by Jed Bonniwell and Marty Willson-Piper
Lyrics by Jed Bonniwell
Marty Willson-Piper - lead and rhythm electric and acoustic 6-string and 12-string guitars, bass, percussion
Jed Bonniwell - lead vocals, loops and keys
Dare Mason - additional keys and sounds
Eddie John - drums
Phoebe Tsen - harmony vocals
Olivia Willson-Piper - strings, additional backing vocals on I'm Electric and Dome of Light, wah-wah pedal on The Four Horses of Venice
Nicklas Barker & Sophie Linder - mellotron on Life This Way
Richard Evans - trumpet on Queen Elizabeth's Keys
Shannon Maree - additional vocals on If You Believe

Produced and arranged by Marty Willson-Piper and Dare Mason
Mixed by Dare Mason
All songs engineered by Dare Mason at The VIP Lounge, Penzance, England
This album was recorded between December 2019 and May 2020 in Penzance, Cornwall
Vocals recorded at various times in 2019 and 2020 in Minneapolis and Malaysian Borneo
Jed's vocals recorded in Minneapolis
Phoebe's vocals recorded in Malaysian Borneo
Ed's drums recorded in Bristol
Nicklas' & Sophie's mellotron recorded in Stockholm
Mastered by Poppy Weinberger at Riverfish Mastering
Marty Willson-Piper appears courtesy of the In Deep Music Archive



Write-up at Schoolkids Records:

Space Summit is a collaboration between the ubiquitous Marty Willson-Piper (ex-the church) and Minneapolitan Jed Bonniwell. Marty handles the luminescent electric guitars and the bass whilst Jed is in charge of lead vocal duties. Jed writes the lyrics; they write the music together. The album is produced by Marty and producer/engineer Dare Mason who also plays keyboards. Phoebe Tsen sings harmony vocals, Olivia Willson-Piper plays the strings, Eddie John plays the drums and Anekdoten's Nicklas Barker plays Mellotron. All the usual suspects from recent Noctorum and MOAT projects make an appearance, with the exception of Phoebe who lives in Borneo.

Space Summit's music was conceived in cyberspace - and was recorded in America, Borneo, Sweden and the UK. The music created on Space Summit's debut album by Jed and Marty is simultaneously modern and classic dreampop - the subtle shading of dark and light with layered, sonic textures on every track.

This album is one of the fascinating results of Marty's Sessioneer Series, where he works with discovered collaborators from around the globe on new musical ideas. Space Summit started as discussions around music and guitar technique in 2013 and eventually flourished into songwriting and musical collaboration. Marty would provide some musical sketches, chords or riffs - Jed would then add lyrics and additional musical ideas, and each song would continue to evolve back and forth until a complete demo had been created - finally taking the songs into the studio to record them with other musicians. With touring coming to a halt in 2020, the lockdown provided the time needed to bring this album to completion.