Open All Night | In The City Cover


  1. Under The Milky Way (4:57) - The Church
  2. When You Dream (5:17) - Barenaked Ladies
  3. Clay Feet (5:12) - Kristin Hersh
  4. She Cries Your Name (4:48) - Beth Orton
  5. Fumbling Towards Ecstasy (4:48) - Sarah McLachlan
  6. Beatrice (4:22) - Daniel Lanois
  7. This Perfect World (4:33) - Freedy Johnston
  8. In A Lonely Place (4:12) - The Smithereens with Suzanne Vega
  9. She Runs Away (3:44) - Duncan Sheik
  10. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want (1:52) - The Smiths
  11. Miss Misery (3:12) - Elliott Smith
  12. Bitter (4:14) - Meshell Ndegéocello
  13. The Night (4:49) - Morphine
  14. My Funny Valentine (1:29) - Elvis Costello
  15. Renaissance Eyes (3:20) - Don Dixon
  16. Time's Running Out (2:39) - Colin Blunstone
  17. Dolphins (4:19) - Billy Bragg
  18. So Much For Love (5:01) - John Cale



This compilation is part of the Rhino Open All Night series. Other titles are Open All Night | On The Road and Open All Night | In The Shadows. Art Direction and Design for all three are by Rachel Gutek (, designer of several albums and singles by The Church (Forget Yourself, Back With Two Beasts, Block, Deep In The Shallows: The Classic Singles Collection), Marty Willson-Piper (Live From The Other Side, Nightjar), Tiare Helberg, and Noctorum.

From the back cover:

Ethereal alt-rock for the wee small hours. Night is the time for reflecting on the day's events, a sort of "state of the union" of the soul. Music can capture that condition in a way that words just can't. When the velvet touch of darkness settles over the city, you can let the day flow out and enter the night.