Steve Kilbey outdoors - old photo by Russell Kilbey

This is a collection of demos recorded by Steve Kilbey in his bedroom studio prior to The Church's first album. They were initially distributed on an audio cassette through the Seance mailing list. These copies also contained an unreleased demo recording by The Church called "The People Next Door" (aka "Warm Oily Voices"). These demos were later made available as a free bonus download for individuals who pre-ordered the Monsters N Mirages boxset from Second Motion Records before May 18, 2010.

Tracks (click a title for details)

    Bedroom Demos #1:

  1. Inkling (2:36)
  2. Let's Experiment (2:29)
  3. A Doll Inside A Doll (2:52) – 
  4. Another Inkling (2:19)
  5. Estranged (3:22)
  6. Electrical Disturbance (4:17) – 
  7. Mourn The Born (1:57)
  8. When I Come Back Again (3:52)
  9. For A Moment We're Strangers (4:36)
  10. Insect World (3:29)
  11. Statue Garden (4:20) – 
  12. Sand And Snow (2:12)
  13. The Scene Is Real (3:12)

    Bedroom Demos #2:

  1. Untitled (aka Mechanism) (4:01)
  2. Left Her Behind (aka Weird Old World) (2:42)
  3. You're My Idea (4:06) – 
  4. My Abstract Model (3:27) – 
  5. It's Not A Question (aka Prophet Margin) (3:00)
  6. Slowly (5:08)
  7. Rocking Horse (4:14)
  8. You Can't Turn Your Back (aka Nothing Left) (3:10) – 
  9. She Waits (aka Here In The Heart) (2:05)
  10. Still I Don't Understand (aka Again) (5:22) – 
  11. Life Is Such A Blast (aka As The World, aka Arm Chair) (3:10) – 
  12. Instrumental #1 (aka Ur Inside) (2:44) –  /
  13. Instrumental #2 (2:50)

» Lyrics «



"For A Moment We're Strangers" was re-recorded for Of Skins And Heart.

"Untitled," "Left Her Behind," and "Still I Don't Understand" were cleaned up, remixed, and respectively retitled "Mechanism," "Weird Old World," and "Again" for Freaky Conclusions.

"Life Is Such A Blast" was cleaned up and retitled "Arm Chair" for the Unearthed Karmic Hit Reissue. This track also shows up on Artifacts under the title "As The World."

"Statue Garden," "Electrical Disturbance," "Inkling," "My Abstract Model," "You're My Idea," "It's Not a Question," and "Instrumental #1" were cleaned up and included on addendaone. "It's Not a Question" and "Instrumental #1" were respectively retitled "Prophet Margin" and "Ur Inside."

Thanks to Jeremy Adams for suggesting this page and providing info.